What is Digital India?

What is Digital India?

What is Digital India?

Digital India is a Programme to prepare India for a knowledge future. Hon’ble Shri Narender Modi, Prime Minister of India has emphasized the National e-government program and has lent its approval for Digital India. A programme to transform India into a digital-enabled culture and knowledge economy.

Digital India is an ambitious programme of Government of India projected at Rs 1,13,000 crores. This is for preparing India for the knowledge-based transformation and delivering good governance to citizens by synchronized and co-ordinated involvement with both the Central Government and State Government.

The existing/ ongoing e-Governance initiatives could be revamped to align them with all the fundamentals of Digital India. The eyesight of Digital India is to transform the nation into a digitally empowered society and knowledge economy. It would make sure that government services are available to taxpayers electronically. It would also bring about people liability through mandated delivery of government’s services digitally.

The Digital India eyesight provides the intensified impetus for further momentum and progress for e-Governance. It would encourage inclusive growth that covers digital services, products, devices, manufacturing and job opportunities.

Digital infrastructure will focus on providing fast, secure Web. Governance and services on demand will focus on integrating services across departments and authorities and making services offered in real-time for the mobile and online platform.

Digital empowerment of citizens will pay emphasis on universal digital literacy and access to digital resources/services in Indian languages.

The programme will be implemented in phases from 2014 till 2018. The source of financing for most of the e-Governance projects at present is via budgetary provisions of respective ministries/departments in the state or central governments. Requirements of funds for a particular job (s) for Digital India will be worked out by various nodal ministries/departments. Still, according to a government estimate, it will cost Rs 113,000 crore. To implement this government will strengthen the National Informatics Center (NIC) by restructuring it to support most of the central government departments and state governments. Positions of chief information officers (CIO) will be generated in at least ten critical ministries so that e-Governance projects can be designed, made and implemented quickly.

Apart from that, the DeitY will create four senior positions within the section for handling the programme say, additional secretary, Digital India; joint secretary, infrastructure improvement; joint secretary, capability building and digital enablement; and joint secretary, IT programs in uncovered areas & procedure re-engineering.

Read this post on DigitalIndiaNet

About author
Posted by : Sandeep Raj Gautam

I am Co-Founder of DigitalIndiaNet.com